About Us

Croatia Deakin Soccer ClubWe welcome you to the Croatia Deakin Soccer Club – a hub for Croatian sporting and cultural interests in the Nation’s Capital, Canberra, and host of the 43rd annual Croatian Soccer Tournament in 2017.

The Croatia Deakin Soccer Club was established in 1958 under the original name of Croatia Soccer Club Canberra. Its purpose was to promote, foster and cultivate the Croatian name in sporting, social welfare and cultural fields. It also had the aim of promoting the sport of soccer in the Australian Capital Territory (ACT).

The Club commenced competitive play in 1959 by entering the ACT Second Division but within a year gained promotion to the First Division where it has remained ever since. In 1969 it was the first Croatian soccer club in Australia to construct its own club premises and sporting ground, adopting the name ‘Croatia Deakin Soccer Club’ to reflect the suburb where it is still located today.

The first Premiership win came in 1962 and it was to be the first of a record 22 Premierships won, making it the ACT’s most successful soccer club. The Club has also won the Australian Croatian Cup 6 times, including the inaugural competition in 1975. Several notable soccer players started out at the Club including Josip Šimunić, Ned Zelić, Nado Špaleta, Ivan Gruičić, Ante Jurić and Stan Dukić.

In 1994 the Club premises undertook major renovations. A new, purpose built stadium was opened in 2006. Croatia Deakin Soccer Club is also home to Croatian Folkloric Ensemble “Croatia” and the Croatian Women’s Association. It regularly plays host to cultural events ranging from Croatian musical acts and zabave to folkloric performances and dinners.

Tournament INFOGRAM

We hope you enjoy your visit to Croatia Deakin Soccer Club.

Share this Post